Clearing the mist

About an year and half ago when i set my foot into this wonderful place called DTU(formerly DCE :P) ,incorporated with nervousness was the confusion of what to expect out of my college life. Not to forget the disappointment and dismay of not getting through to the IITs. Gradually though things have changed drastically.

College life has changed me a lot. A lot! One year into college life, I am definitely a more mature and evolved person. From being an introvert and less confident boy to a person who doesn’t hesitate to speak before a group, the transformation has come across a surprise to many. The fact that college life in itself is a new beginning, a new chapter in life is one of the most amazing things about it. In a way it’s a fresh start and we get to mould it in a way we have always intended to.

Even since our school days, college has been a symbol of extravagant freedom and independence. This seductive freedom has taught me some invaluable lessons through numerous experiences, some of which have been hard to come to terms with. The world is everything but a secure cocoon that we have all been brought up in. Going to college is the first time we probably get to see the real world. I have learned that not everything is simply black or white.  We tend to form early impressions of people we come across. People have dimensions which can only be understood if we spend time with them.

Friendship is not an instantaneous thing rather it is a bond that develops over a period of time. People with whom we spend time or hangout with may not necessarily turnout to be our friends (not being a cynic here!). On the other hand some lifelong friendships are born in some of the most awkward and unimaginable situations. Another recent realization has been the fact that there is absolutely no substitute for actual face to face interactions. Those online chats can never match that feeling of fulfillment. Over time the topic of discussion may fade away but we can never forget how actually talking to a person made us feel.

Another intriguing aspect about any college is that one gets to meet so many people from diverse backgrounds. Some speak a different language, some are shy, some are arrogant, some are funny, some are irritating, some are pure genius and some are too complex to describe.  All in all it’s a fun time meeting and interacting with these new types of Homo Sapiens .

Reflecting on my journey in DTU till now I can comfortably say from the initial sadness of not getting into IITs, today I cannot imagine my life without this place in Bawanaland. I don’t if I would have been able to survive in any college other than this.

“I may not have gone where I intended to go, but I think I have ended up where I needed to be.” – Douglas Adams

Published by

aikanshgupta25

Stories and quotes are what I feed on. Let's scribble a novel together. Of our thoughts. Stories. And journeys.

4 thoughts on “Clearing the mist”

Leave a Reply

